OT Console question

Sukurachi
Grand Master Hunter
Grand Master Hunter
Realm: The Scryers (Horde), Argent Dawn (Alliance)

OT Console question

Unread post by Sukurachi »

I'm curious, I haven't played on a console in nearly 10 years (well, since I started playing WoW).

My favourite games before that were FF:XI and FF:XII on my PS2.

But you could just play the games and not have to hook up the machine to the internet (well, except for FF:XI, obviously).

Now it seems to me that every new generation of console requires not only to be connected to the internet, but some seem to also have obligatory monthly fees just to connect to their networks? or am I misunderstanding some of the systems?

If I were to buy a new console, it would be to play RPG's, like Phantasy Star, or my old FF:XII (which remains my favourite off-line RPG).

If I bought a Playstation console, would it require a subscription or something?
How about the Microsoft machine?

I also read that, for example, the new PS consoles won't play PS2 games. So I'd have to DL the game from Sony despite already owning it?

A bit of palindromic wisdom:
"Step on no pets!"
Casual player.. don't raid, don't PvP. Suffer from extreme altitis
I love pets - combat or non.
<That Kind of Orc> guild on The Scryers, small, casual LGBT and friends guild, join us Horde-side.

Rawr
Illustrious Master Hunter
Illustrious Master Hunter
Realm: Draka-Wyrmrest Accord

Re: OT Console question

Unread post by Rawr »

The PlayStation Network does not require you to be hooked up to the internet or sub. I love the PSN I buy movies and games from it, then take my PS3 anywhere and play them. XBox Im not sure on as I never use mine. :mrgreen:

Sukurachi
Grand Master Hunter
Grand Master Hunter
Realm: The Scryers (Horde), Argent Dawn (Alliance)

Unread post by Sukurachi »