Spirit mend

Anything related to Hunter pets.
Forum rules
Treat others with respect. Report, don't respond. Read the complete forum rules.
Alandoriel
Realm: die Silberne Hand (german Realm)

Spirit mend

Unread post by Alandoriel »

With cataclysm spirit strike has been replaced with spirit mend but I admit I am unable to find out how it ist used effectively.
Though it can be set to autocast it looks like it is not being cast unless a friendly character ist targeted.
Targeting a friendly character and manually activate the ability works fine however.
Since Spirit Beasts are ferrocious they are usually targeted at enemies and they don't seem to be smart enough to autocast their spriti mend on group members with low HP.
I guess I'll need some sort of macro to put spirit mend to use, but since I am not good with macros, has anybody an Idea how this is done?
Or maybe there is a much simpler way or I'm simply mistaken with any of the above.
Please let me know.
Acherontia
 Community Resource
 Community Resource
Realm: Argent Dawn EU

Re: Spirit mend

Unread post by Acherontia »

They do autocast on friendly targets, and the targets do NOT have to be the pet's target. The target DOES however have to be in your party.

So, if you are in a BG, and you take heavy damage, the pet will usually come back and heal you on its own. Also, in dungeons, it will heal the tank if the heal is left on autocast.

If you would like a macro, you can use this one to cast it on yourself:

#showtooltip Spirit Mend
/cast [target=player] Spirit Mend

If you would like the Spirit Mend macro to show the proper icon even when the Spirit Beast is away (which would normally make a black icon with a red ?, as there is no Spirit Mend available), you will need to manually choose the correct icon when you make the macro.