Any Parents?

Raiyen
Expert Hunter
Expert Hunter

Any Parents?

Unread post by Raiyen »

Anyone else a parent on here? If so how do YOU play WoW with a child?

I just had my first (and hopefully only) child back in January. It is starting to get a bit easier now since he is 2 months old, but he tends to want attention/food/diaper change RIGHT as I get into a raid or dungeon. lol I am sure it will be a bit easier when he gets a little bit older and can start amusing himself with toys and such.
Sarayana
Illustrious Master Hunter
Realm: Ysera-US, Nesingwary-US

Re: Any Parents?

Unread post by Sarayana »

Congrats on becoming a parent!! :D

My husband and I started playing while we were pregnant. We were raiding several nights a week when he was born, and we actually didn't have to interrupt that much. We'd ask for a quick afk while we set up the nursing pillow and then just continue playing while he drank/slept in my lap.

We don't get much playing done while he's awake, of course, but then the day time isn't usually prime playing time in our house. But he's in bed by 8, so if we want we have lots of hours to play then. The hardest time was probably when he was just learning to fall asleep on his own. We'd have to go in many times during the evening to settle him back down. Now that he's got that down, it's a breeze.

It's a lot of fun now--he's almost 4 and is showing a lot of interest. He loves the character creation screen, helps me create my transmog looks and likes to make my characters jump and fly around. He has about 10 characters scattered across our three accounts.

As a slight aside, we've had to deal with questions like "why are we killing the wolves, mommy?" We decided to do the fairytale thing (our toons are heroes, evil has to be vanquished to protect the people, that kind of thing) but we did struggle a bit to explain the "killing is ok in the game" thing.

Much gratitude to Spiritbinder for the signature and Vephriel for the avatar! <3

Raiyen